Amie’s Story of Finding Joy

By

Enjoy this story.  I am pleased to tell you about this beautiful young woman Amie. She is thrilled to have had a chance to shared her story with me, knowing that I would share it with you. Be blessed!

I met precious Amie just about two months ago, shortly after she was released from prison. She struck me as one of the softest people I had ever met, “heart soft” that is. Amie came to our church with her sister-in-law Amber (one of the dearest girls that I know…her story to follow). Amber had spoken of Amie’s children whom she often would look after, but I had never had the opportunity to know Amie herself. One would never know it, but Amie now 30 years old, seems to have lived a life of someone much older.
The story she tells starts about 15 years earlier when she was a teen aged girl who experienced drugs, sex and as a result, early motherhood. Amie speaks of how she has never been married or even been on a “real date”, yet three children later she is full of joy as she recalls her story of finding peace and contentment through her discovery of Jesus and His forgiveness and new life that He offers.
At age 25, Amie had drugs and a robbery close behind her and was running from the police trying to stay out of prison. Her father had raised her three children for the past ten years as she would run in and out of touch with family. Methamphetamine seemed to be her best friend, yet one that was ruining her life. In 2006 she had been caught and placed on probation, but admits “I wasn’t done” and proceeded to mess up every chance to fix her life that she had been given. During those last six months of her Methamphetamine use, she was truly sick of it, she says “I was disgusted with myself” but she just kept doing it. Through that six months, she even thought about committing suicide but instead, decided to come home to her dad and turn herself in. For her last week of freedom, she and her father went to Ft. Bragg to spent a week with her kids, grandma and grandpa. This would be the last time that she would see her grandmother, as she would pass away while Amie was in prison. Amie knew that if she turned herself in she would go to prison, as she had not reported for probation. Yet even so, she was exhausted and tired of running. But, even after all this, and the decision had been made, the night that she came home from Ft. Bragg (knowing what the next day held), she was scared, and packed her bags to do the only thing that she knew…run. But the next morning, as the Lord would have it, the police were there waiting for her. The run had finally ended, as did her drug use. At this time, her children were 10, 4, and 2 years old.
When she actually was in prison she felt like it was her second chance and it was saving her life as the drugs had had a “sick disgusting hold on me and controlled everything I did”. She tells me that when she was doing drugs it was like it was “something I was trying to feed to make myself feel better, and that that was the worst prison in the world”.
Once in the state prison, she had a choice to make, ”I could either fight my way through it or do something good”. She decided to do something good. She proceeded to get her GED. She also decided to go to church every day from 6 to 7 pm in what she described as “a stinky trailer”.  The smell didn’t matter, because as all the outside preachers would come and say things, she knew that they pertained to her. She would cry, cry, cry and feel better. During that time, she could not think of a future, because she knew that she was not going anywhere. Going to church got her through her days there, kept her out of trouble and humbled her. She went to church faithfully for 1 1/2 years.
While there, she learned that she was forgiven by Jesus for all the bad things that she had done, and that she was OK and not a “bad person”. She was baptized in prison and says that she now loves the environment of church, and everything about it.
Amie says, “Who I am today is a work in progress…becoming a better friend, mother, daughter and sister. It has taken all of this to make me a better person”.
Today, Amie is a glowing woman who I am blessed to have met. She is has recently enrolled in college and studying to become a drug and alcohol counselor.  She tells me that her major message is “It’s OK and you can start over”, and that she knows that “Jesus has forgiven me and lifted me out of my suffocation”.

Woman of Faith Photography

